Needle felt creative block on cat

I’m having a bit of a creative block at the moment I can’t seem to get cats right. What I have in my mind to create and what the final piece looks like is two different things.

I really need to figure out the form of a cat, I’ve always had a cat in the house, yet it’s form just seems to elude me when sculpting it in wool.

I haven’t decided whether to forget trying to create cats for a while or give up on them for good.

It would be better if I could identify where it’s not right, all I know it’s neither realistic or cartoon cute. I just can’t put my finger on the problem.

11 responses to “Needle felt creative block on cat

  1. I think your cat is pretty darn cute. If you’re going for something more realistic, though, I think there’s something missing in the shoulders. When my cat stretches, there’s a deep arch in his back just below where his should blades sink in and pop out. His back end also sticks up higher and straighter (adding depth to the bend).

    • Thank you so much for your help, your right about the shoulders. 🙂 The face is wrong too. I think I need to sit with a pencil and sketch pad before I have another go, I rush at some of these before planning.

      • You’re welcome! I too was thinking there’s something about the face but couldn’t put my finger on exactly what. If it comes to me, I’ll let you know 🙂 Looking forward to seeing how your kitties evolve!

    • My granddaughter loves it too, but as usual I’m not happy with it, but practise makes perfect they say (not that that is going to happen, I’m too much of a self critic) I’m so pleased you like it I’ll get them right eventually 🙂

  2. I would love to buy this cat off of you! I teach dance and need a small cat to show them how to round their back (preschoolers) this is darling. Do you see them?

    • Hi Crystal, Im sorry but this one is already gone to a new home. I don’t currently sell my characters they go to family and friends. I am however planning on setting up an online shop. However progress on this is slow at the moment, but I will post when it is available.

Feel free to comment :)

