Bertie, needle felted steampunk bunny

Ok here is my most time consuming creation yet … Bertie the first of my steampunk critters.

Needle felted in natural merino wool, with striking blue eyes, he's quite a cheerful chap. He obviously likes getting dressed up, especially in his steampunk regalia

 

3.5 inches high measured in a sitting position to the top of his little hat. His outfit is made from faux suede decorated with watch cogs and velvet.

His whiskers are made from hair, carefully fixed into place. The wool is shaded with artist soft pastel.

If you have been following my blog you'll know I've been planning on starting to sell my critters. Several reasons, my family say I should as they have too many, there are only so many I can keep.

Interest so far has been very good but my current problem is working out prices. I have the concept formula of working out a price, covering costs, materials etc. It is the hours it takes to make these that makes the decision difficult.

Bertie is a case in question there are so many hours in this project. With the sculpting of the character jointing and finishing, and on top of this is the making of his steampunk outfit. (I also need to include the time it takes to make the eyes too) oh what a dilemma.

As each of the critters are one of a kind with no patterns, it is almost impossible to 'practice' to speed up.

I'm pleased I made him though, he's such a happy character.

What do you think? Which of my critters have you liked from my blog?

© 2013 Irene Irving

 

8 responses to “Bertie, needle felted steampunk bunny

  1. I like all the critters from your blog. Bertie is awesome! As for prices I think a good idea is to see what others are charging. May I show you a site that sells needle felted animals? You can see the prices charged there. Your work is stunning.
    http://www.fadeeva.com/

  2. I would love to purchase one of your steampunk critters! They look so awesome! Pricing would be hard, I know but I would happily pay >£50 for Bertie!

    • Thank you so much for that. I intend to organise to set up to start selling these over the next month or so keep watching 🙂

  3. Hi Irene. Your steampunk Bertie is fab! I understand your dilemma with regard to pricing items like this. I would suggest you take a look on the internet and see what others are charging for similar characters and don’t sell yourself too cheap! Your work is amazing so I hope folk appreciate the amount of time and skill that goes into it.
    Karen x

    • Hi Karen, thank you so much for your lovely comment, although it is difficult to work out the pricing I’ve found that by selling it’s allowing me to explore and create more which was my main aim. I’m still amazed at the work others do with this craft and the things they sculpt from fibres. I’m happy to report that “folk” do appreciate the work and I get lovely feedback from people. Irene x

Feel free to comment :)

