Boxes for packaging…

I do like to give myself a challenge, I have looked and researched for boxes for my characters, no luck. I could find boxes at reasonable prices but the minimum supply amounts ranged from 100 to 1000 that was no good as each of my critters vary in size.

So the alternative was to make some, that should be easy. But then I decide that i must give myself restrictions being recycled or scrap materials.

First idea to pop into my head were fabric boxes, previously I had made victorian style needle boxes (cant remember the correct name for them). I had base card and plenty of scrap fabric I have saved (hoarded) over the years.

Fabric boxes

Only problem, it takes ages to make them, and I felt it was a bit of a chore.

So I had to think of another alternative, paper covered seemed the next logical step.

I really need to brush up on my maths skills though. (Although it was my concentration skills too) as I found I was getting increasingly angry at myself for getting the sizes wrong, what a laugh.

So after loads of experiments most of which ended in the recycling bin though. I did manage to make some that seemed to work and didn't take hours to create each individual box.

So I think I have a formula now though. My plan is to make individual boxes as I create my critters. Amazing the effect that you can get with cardboard and wallpaper and a bit of ribbon or cord. Hope you like them….

 

4 responses to “Boxes for packaging…

Feel free to comment :)

