Planning, really! No just my imaginary world.

It's been a strange sort of year, with days blurring into weeks. I do spend my life in a state of “ever ready” when it comes to anticipating my hubby's needs, it would help if I could read minds sometimes. I do find that caring takes over your mental life completely making it difficult sometimes to concentrate on anything else.

On the craft making side, I haven't put into action half of the plans I've made, listed, scheduled etc. Yes I did make the lists, set the goals all of the usual “ways to get things done” but I have discovered I am really good at changing my own targets and schedules too. In fact that's easy (big smile) all you do is change the date time etc job done 😉 All to often I will go off to my own little world of stabbing and poking wool enjoying my imagination that's not planning that's just enjoyment, an escape from reality.

I really need a name for this imaginary place. It's just along Stabbalot Lane, turn right on Caffeine Alley not forgetting to call in at the “Biscuit Barrel” as you walk past. It's a warm and friendly place, where little characters magically appear to cheer you up and give hugs.

I have thought of names and dismissed them for various reasons. So any suggestions for this imaginary worlds name would be welcome 🙂

It's amazing what you learn just from setting up a facebook page and twitter account, then watching, reading and following. All of those people out there who create handmade items for sale they are so organised. I realised just how far I was behind with planning. Planning? listen to me in just in a previous paragraph I talk about planning and how easy it is to put the plan off, I'm here having a good chuckle to myself, I can remember my old nan talking about people who talked about doing things but didn't actually do them “they are good gunnas” ( “gunna” is a Geordie term for “going to”) well nan I'm a good gunna at the moment.

I am learning not only how to get people to see my characters online (traffic, marketing etc.,) but realising within weeks of opening my online store that everyone else had been planning their Christmassy themed stock as well as every other holiday event there was possible to cover. I have watched in awe, at the behind the scenes work and planning these people put in, learning that some had started planning and creating their Christmas stock in July? All rushing around doing craft fairs being busy busy bees, being so industrious.

I didn't open my little online shop to become an entrepreneur and a high flying business woman far from it. In fact it seemed a shame for my little characters to sit in little boxes and bags all alone and not really being seen, with family and friends encouraging me to get them up for sale, so my online store is my online shelf, the display cabinet that doesn't needing dusting for now.

I must admit it's been lovely to have people talk about my characters with such kindness, and some characters have found new and exciting homes and haven't even made it to the shelf (store), all of this encourages me to keep creating.

So my plan, at the moment is to just keep watching, keep making, keep learning, something I always told my students in the past “you never stop learning” it's ongoing for life. I will explore possibilities, just keep and open mind.

I know I will keep escaping to my little world of soft fibres and imaginary characters and the occasional “ouch” as I stab myself with one of my needles will ensure I don't lose contact with reality altogether 🙂

So if anyone has any suggestions for a possible name for my imaginary world comments would be welcome 🙂

 

5 responses to “Planning, really! No just my imaginary world.

  1. The last one is particularly liked by the professor. They are unique creations indeed! Pure and innocent yet fun and funny. Evoke a warm heart feeling. Do you want name suggestions for them individually or just the land of their origin?

  2. Hmmm. You are so talented and your critters will bring and do bring much joy. As a person raised by business people I grew up hearing “give it at least two years before you even consider evaluation”
    The land you go to is probably integral to the whole concept.
    Therefore I suggest you name it “Integral Land”
    Loooooove your critters.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, I know it takes time to get going with a business. I am still in awe of all of these organised craft people, Its my intention at the moment to just enjoy what I do, and see how things go. 🙂 I’ve put your suggestion on my list 😉

Feel free to comment :)

