Boo to a goose challenge.

Another challenge from another crafter who makes paper cuts and other lovely stuff has asked me to make a shop mascot that could also be used perhaps in photos. Name of the shop “Boo to a Goose”

Objective poseable, with folding wings to give a wider variety of positions.

Mm goose I thought should be simple enough. Isn't that always the case. I think my brain must be getting clogged up with other stuff, with pages of scribble in my notebook I eventually sort of had a plan.

Not that this was going to be the final piece but it was a start.

The wire I usually use was going to be a little thin, as I was concerned that the amount of different poses might be too much of a strain so heavy duty aluminium was the way forward.

As I usually weight my characters of course I used my usual steel shot and then off to working the base shape. I should have done the maths first (ha ha maths, I should have said just use common sense) the heavy aluminium frame and the steel shot placement just meant it kept falling over its a matter of balance.

So I had to take it apart and remove the steel shot then rebuild. Oh and it just had to be blue eyes didn't it nothing else would work πŸ™‚

So far so good, the white merino wool works now I just needed to add some character and the folding wings:)

Silk overlay seemed to fit the bill the best for the wings to give the impression of feathers so that was the way forward. His little quiff of silk on his head and tail just seemed to finish him off.

I just need to give him a final finish, sort out the posting now, and hope his new owner likes him …

 

 

 

10 responses to “Boo to a goose challenge.

  1. Oh he is beautiful! I love his little feathery head. Also, the blue eyes are so perfect. Gives him a really sweet and innocent look… but he’s definitely got a touch of mischievousness to him! πŸ™‚

  2. As usual you have created a masterpiece. You have an extraordinary talent .. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Jennifer, I quite like this one too. Sometimes their expressions just seem to work themselves as I sculpt them, this one is no exception. πŸ™‚

Feel free to comment :)

