Aww handful of Hedgehog, faux fur meets needlefelting

It's been interesting having a try at making faux fur bears, they feel so soft but I do really like to needlefelt I don't know what it is about the technique really, it's just good to sculpt. Anyway I had a go at combining the two. White tipped brown faux fur makes nice soft spines and then needlefelting the character into the fur gives you a handful of hedgehog 🙂

Needlefelt hedgehog

Handful of hedgehog

 

Here he is, glass eyes, whiskers and rotating feet.

Spines are faux fur and character in merino wool top 🙂

Happy Easter to everyone from the Tangletopia room 😉

 

Needlefelted hedgehog

Hedgehog cuddle ?

 

3 responses to “Aww handful of Hedgehog, faux fur meets needlefelting

  1. I realize this is a very old post, but I wanted to tell you that I came across it in a google search and absolutely love this little hedgehog! Do you have any tips for working with fur and felting together? I’m trying to add a furry mane to a felted doll, and I can’t seem to find anyone else who’s done something similar!

    • Hi, thank you for your comment, it’s been such a long time since I posted 😱 it’s difficult to really answer your question, I just like to experiment, there are so many wonderful fabrics and fibres that work together, this hedgehog was one of my first, I positively hate the little thing now 😂😂 I have several ways of working sometimes I make a fabric framework and build the felting into it, (mohair hedgehogs) and sometimes I start with the needle felting and stitch the fabric to the shape (squirrel tails 😃)
      Just experiment and let your imagination run wild, being creative doesn’t necessarily follow any rules or techniques.
      Ps I love the work you do I had a little look to check you out 😍 I’m on Instagram too.

      • Thanks for responding! I went to check out your instagram, too–so many cute little critters! I’ll have to play around to figure out the best way to get what I want, which is how I end up solving most felting problems. I’ll definitely be keeping and eye out for your new work, though, it’s absolutely lovely!

Feel free to comment :)

