Further adventures with ‘Furries’

I've been trying to perfect my techniques with faux fur, and my challenge to myself make a very small bear. It's harder than it looks, so my first pattern it's ok but the proportions, to me, weren't quite right.

I was quite pleased with myself seeing as it was only 6cm high, though I know people out there make them smaller, but this was my challenge to me… ๐Ÿ™‚

So onwards I re-jigged the pattern, slightly larger head and shorter feet…

From that point it just seemed to go so wrong, I lost some tiny parts, although I really don't know how I managed that I hadn't moved, at that point.

I wonder how many out there get that need to “get it finished” feeling, you know you just have to keep working even though you know it's time to put the furry down and step away for a while…

Well I didn't put it down , I found the missing bits, then worked on with renewed sense of urgency, I don't know why, there was no rush… to my horror I found I had made two left arms ๐Ÿ˜ฆ typical, I had none of that fabric left either …. The little head also did not come out quite right… I gave in putting this forlorn looking little bear down for the night.

The next time I pick him up I just seemed to see it differently, I needed to make the mistake a feature and that is how this little sad looking mini bear came to be .

 

Brown patch over one eye, arm in a sling and some little strategic top stitching, and I have a little sorry looking, accident prone bear ๐Ÿ˜‰ just a little spoonful …

 

12 responses to “Further adventures with ‘Furries’

  1. I saw this post in my reader and I could have sworn the bear (in the cropped reader pic) was real! Like one of those Humane Society commercials (although thank gawd without the soundtrack!), I just couldn’t turn away. This is, without a doubt, the most gut-wrenchingly tragic crafting post I’ve ever read. The poor thing! Here I am, at the office, feeling overwhelming emotional empathy for a sad little heap of faux fur. Ah well, your tenderness in coming to terms with its creation (minus the two left arms lol – so been there!) is truly lovely.

    • Aww sorry about upsetting you, we have a strange sense of humour in this house. it was also influenced by the fact my son has just broken his hand too. Im still learning to make these little bears. old saying “more haste, less speed” was what I should have done, but then there is fun in trying to problem solve characters ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Somehow… I will survive (cue Gloria Gaynor!). As a writer, I know all about “trying to problem solve characters.” Wish we could do that for some of the people in our lives… stitch in a bit more compassion… add googly eyes lol. Hope your son’s doing OK, at least he has a little buddy to commiserate with. Keep craftin!

      • My sons fine, he’s learnt that if you punch a wall it hurts :D. I will keep crafting it keeps me sane (well I think so, but others would disagree lol )

  2. This morning my husband saw a street dog being run over by a car. He called the local animal welfare organization for help and they took the dog to their shelter for treatment. We are not sure if the poor dog will make it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Since I design free amigurumi patterns in support of this organization, I was thinking of making a cute, injured puppy with a bandaged paw or its forelimb in a sling. And then I see your “accident prone bear” who, by the way, looks utterly adorable! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Do it, I think that is a wonderful idea ๐Ÿ˜€
      I wish I could design patterns like you, I takes me just ages to come up with the faux fur patterns for bears, more error than trial lol ๐Ÿ™‚ (its easier to needle sculpt them in wool)

      • Thank you so much for the encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚
        I know absolutely nothing when it comes to needle sculpting (and i firmly believe this craft form is only for the brave at heart since it involves poking yourself a lot with needles) or making faux fur critters but I adore all your creations, even the ones you’re not particularly very pleased with ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Aww thank you so much I love the cute and oh so neat critters you create through crochet, not just create but make the patterns for too (I have difficulty in remembering how I did something 30secs previously, so writing instructions would be very difficult. I have learnt how not to “poke” myself with the needles quite so much now ;D

  3. I love your bear. I do know how hard it is to make them small. The smallest I was ever able to do was about 4 – 5 inches. And his head was way out of proportion.

    I’ve quit making bears and rag dolls, but I do love looking at them.

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, I’ve always admired bear makers, some of the work on there is amazing no matter what the size, but especially like the tiny ones…Hence my challenge to myself (I still have lots to learn though) ๐Ÿ™‚

Feel free to comment :)

